Women's Lacrosse Team Tabbed Academic Team of the Year

The National Junior College Athletic Association has announced that the Genesee Community College women’s lacrosse team has earned the 2012-2013 NJCAA Women’s Lacrosse Academic Team of the Year award.
Team accolades were earned by achieving a 3.0+ grade point average and awarded to over 500 junior college programs this year. Teams that had the highest GPA for their respective sport were designated as the 2012-2013 NJCAA (sport) Academic Team of the Year and teams that qualified with an overall team GPA above 3.0 were designated as a 2012-2013 NJCAA (sport) All-Academic Team.
Members of the GCC women’s lacrosse team combined for a 3.0 GPA. Team members include, Rachel Ball, Jamie Behrns, Sarah Bosa, Karen Brannon, Cassandra Dembik, Hikaru Kishimoto, Manami Kurita, Tomoko Masunaga, Denae McGrath, Stephanie McVicker, Jordan Powell, Yuki Sasao and Tempestt Smith.
Kishimoto, Masunaga and Sasao were also honored with individual academic achievements. All three were awarded Exemplary Academic Achievement awards.
The NJCAA Academic Student-Athlete Awards were previously known as NJCAA Academic All-American honors. The NJCAA has renamed its academic awards program to the following:
NJCAA Pinnacle Award for Academic Excellence (4.00 GPA on a 4.00 scale)
NJCAA Award for Superior Academic Achievement (3.80 to 3.99 on a 4.00 scale)
NJCAA Award for Exemplary Academic Achievement (3.60 to 3.79 on a 4.00 scale)