Twenty-Eight Outstanding Scholars Receive Awards in Genesee's Advanced Studies Program

Twenty-eight students from across Western New York were the finalists for Outstanding Scholar Awards in Genesee Community College's Advanced Studies program.

Batavia, New York—Twenty-eight students from across Western New York were the finalists for Outstanding Scholar Awards in Genesee Community College’s Advanced Studies program. The awardees were honored at a ceremony and reception, Wednesday, May 29, 2013 in the Stuart Steiner Theatre at Genesee’s Batavia campus.

Advanced Studies is part of the College’s ACE program, or Accelerated College Enrollment, and allows high school students the opportunity to earn college credit from Genesee while attending class within their high school. High school teachers approved as Genesee adjunct faculty teach all Advanced Studies courses. Some of the most enterprising young students earn enough transferable Advanced Studies credit to enter their first year of college as sophomores.

“Once again, we were delighted to welcome the Advanced Studies students and recognize their achievements with their families at our main campus. It really is an incredible evening and opportunity to celebrate the hard work of students throughout the Western New York area,” Ed Levinstein, associate dean of the ACE Program said. “So many young adults come through the ACE program and it really helps enable their professional growth and career success.”

The 28 finalists were selected from more than 165 nominations in the five subject areas of mathematics, science, social science, foreign language and English. As in years past, a committee of academic professionals from Genesee Community College selected the following award winners, listed by county within their subject areas:

Abigal Shilvock- Alexander High School
Grace Mehlenbacher- Keshequa High School
Steven Dill - Holley High School
Kaila Huehn- Letchworth High School

Deanna Kocher- Alden High School
Niha Idrees - Batavia High School
Benjamin Kelly- Geneseo High School
Michael Patterson- Albion High School
Emily Bliss - Letchworth High School

Kelsey Hamm- Pioneer High School
James Rutowski- Alden High School
Timothy Bergman- Notre Dame High School
Emily ButlerCal-- Mum High School
Amy Sharn- Northstar Christian Academy
Steven Dill - Holley High School
Corey Hollister- Perry High School

Eric Szyjka- Alden High School
Brittany Denton- Oakfield-Alabama HS
Gretchen Braeunle- Lima Christian HS
Joshua Hatfield- Holley High School
Jonathan Borek- Perry High School

Emma Kubik- Alden High School
Dustin Nemek- Elba High School
Marissa Rice- Livonia High School
Leah Platt- Newfane High School
Joshua Hatfield- Holley High School
Kaylee Bressler- Wayland-Cohocton HS
Chelsie Roberts- Letchworth High School

GCC’s Faces of ACE campaign was part of this year’s pre- and post-ceremonies. College photographers were on hand to take group and individual pictures of any ACE student (and their families) who would like to celebrate their academic success on Facebook and the ACE website.

For more information about the Advanced Studies program at Genesee Community College,
call 585-345-6801 or visit

# # #

Editor’s note: For a photograph of the finalists who attended the award ceremony please go to: Scholars2013.jpg

Standing left to right, front row: Abigail Shilvock, Deanna Kocher, Erik Szyjka, Grace Mehlenbacher, Marissa Rice; Back row: Kelsey Hamm, Amy Sharn, James Rutowski, Jonathan Borek and Timothy Bergman.