GCC Dance Team Wins National Competition

Five Cougarettes Named All-American Dancers

Batavia, NY- The Genesee Community College Cougarettes Dance Team brought home the trophy and a National Champion Banner from the Eastern Cheer and Dance Beach Bash Nationals held in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina on April 27, 2013. The team competed in the College Pom Dance Division against Marymount University (Arlington, VA), Mount Olive College (Mt. Olive, NC), Cape Fear Community College (Wilmington, NC), and Tusculum College (Tusculum, TN).

In addition, based on their outstanding performance at Nationals, five Cougarettes were selected as All American Dancers by AACD (All American Cheer and Dance). They are: Ashley Principio, Megan DeFisher, Taylor Gayton, Brandi Schmiedicker, and Margarita Colby. The honor means the five dancers will perform in three upcoming special events:

  • The AACD Thanksgiving Day Spectacular
  • The nationally televised half-time show of the
  • Detroit Lions Thanksgiving Day game
  • The pre-game show at the 2014 Pro Bowl

“We are incredibly excited for the seven girls on our team who competed at Nationals,” said Cougarettes advisor Jennifer Newell. “They went up against some great teams in our division and did incredibly well. We are also thrilled for the opportunities earned by the five girls named All-Americans.”

The Cougarettes Dance Team includes; Ashley Principio (Geneva, NY), Megan DeFisher (Williamson, NY), Samantha Sherwin (Syracuse, NY), Olivia Trafalski (Naples, NY) , Samantha Vogt (West Seneca, NY), Taylor Gayton (Oakfield, NY), Brandi Schmiedicker (Pembroke, NY) and Captain Margarita Colby (Spencerport, NY).

For more information, contact Jennifer Newell at (585) 343-0055 ext. 6314, or via email: jmnewell@genesee.edu.

Editor’s Note:
A photo of the Cougarettes dance team with their trophy and National Champion Banner is available here:

The Cougarettes Dance Team includes (front row, seated) Ashley Principio, Olivia Trafalski, Megan DeFisher, Samantha Vogt. Back Row: Taylor Gayton, Brandi Schmiedicker, Margarita Colby, and Samantha Sherwin.