Genesee Honors ACE Students at Outstanding Scholars Awards Ceremony

66 Local Teachers to be Recognized for Service

The best and brightest local high school students in Genesee Community College’s Advanced Studies classes will be honored on Wednesday, June 2, 2010 in the Stuart Steiner Theatre at 7:00 p.m. Advanced Studies is part of the College’s ACE Programs, or Accelerated College Enrollment, and allows high school students the opportunity to earn college credit from Genesee while attending class within their high school. Over 120 students from high schools throughout Western New York were nominated for the award, of which 60 were chosen as semi-finalists. The 32 finalists will be announced at the Awards Ceremony.

Two new component s will be featured at this year’s event. First, Joan Cole, Superintendent of Elba Central School District has been chosen to give the first keynote address at the Outstanding Scholars Awards Ceremony. Mrs. Cole has been working within the Elba Central School district for 29 years and will be retiring as superintendent at the end of this school year. She will share some insights on ACE Programs and offer some words of inspiration and encouragement to students.

In addition, the ACE Program will recognize the continuing dedication and commitment of numerous high school teachers who have taught Advanced Studies courses through the years. Sixty-six high school teachers in the GLOW region and beyond have been with ACE programs for ten years or longer. Advanced Studies courses are taught by teachers who serve as Genesee Community College adjunct faculty at their respective high schools. The following local teachers will be recognized:

18 Years
Christine Nickerson- Pavilion High School
William Price- Letchworth High School

17 Years
Richard Kuhn- Perry High School
Daniel Meier- Caledonia-Mumford High School
Thomas Trosey- Batavia High School

16 Years
Suzanne Halas- Batavia High School

15 Years

Jean Bartholomew- Pavilion High School
Edward Brady- Byron-Bergen High School
Donna Bryant- Orleans/Niagara BOCES
Daniel Burke- Holley High School
Cindy Feroleto- Letchworth High School
Own Gould- Attica high School
Linda Hume- Perry High School
Jennifer Korpanty- Batavia High School
David Makepeace- Livonia High School
Thomas Shafer- Dansville High School
Donna Thompson- Genesee Valley BOCES (Batavia)
Barbara VanZandt- Wayland-Cohocton High School

14 Years
Donald Griffing- Wayland-Cohocton High School
Deborah Hughes- Attica High School
Gerald Sealy- Perry High School

13 Years
Jim Dziemian- Genesee Valley BOCES (Batavia)
Janet Foley- Livonia High School
Anthony George- Attica High School
Kathleen Gunther- Warsaw High School
Willard Heller- Perry High School
Greg Kinal- Pembroke High School
Lisa Mallaber- Livonia High School
Roger Reakes- Dansville High School
Joanne Smith- Lyndonville High School
Jean Weisbeck- Alden High School
James Wolbert- Caledonia-Mumford High School
Mary Zacher-Bucko- Alden High School

12 Years
Connie Allison- Dansville High School
Joseph DeMerle- Orleans/Niagara BOCES
Joe Fetzner- Perry High School
Chris Genthner- Livonia High School
Joseph Hurley- Caledonia-Mumford High School
Angelic Lowery- Perry High School
Tracy Meyers- Livonia High School
Suzanne Newton- Charles D’Amico High School (Albion)

11 Years
Warren Bush- Perry High School
Lance Cayea- Alden High School
Robert Hambridge- Keshequa High School
Douglas Hollinger- Pavilion High School
Naoisa Hoskins- Avon High School
Loraine Mazza- Genesee Valley BOCES (Batavia)
John Mertsock- Letchworth High School
Paula Reimann- Lyndonville High School
Chris Therrien- Oakfield-Alabama High School
Renee Webb- York High School
Shawnie Woeller- Alexander High School

10 Years
William Augrom- Perry High School
Peter Bub- Letchworth High School
Shelly Daggs- Charles D’Amico High School (Albion)
Carol Geiselmann- Wayland-Cohocton High School
Cathie Hogan- Lyndonville High School
Gerald Krupka- Avon High School
Leigh Major- Avon High School
John Mangefrida- Batavia High School
Stacy McCarthy- Batavia High School
Ryan Mosier- Pavilion High School
Heather Pero- Keshequa High School
Thomas Roycroft- Letchworth High School
Amy Sparrow-Percy- Oakfield-Alabama High School
Wayne Wadhams- Charles D’Amico High School (Albion)

“Advanced Studies classes allow high school students to get a head start on their college careers,” Ed Levinstein, associate dean of the ACE Program said. “Some of the most enterprising young students earn enough transferable Advanced Studies credits to enter their first year of college as sophomores.”

The 60 students were selected as semi-finalists in the five subject areas of mathematics, science, social science, foreign language, and English. A committee of academic professionals from Genesee Community College has selected 32 finalists who will be announced at the June 2 reception.

For more information about the Advanced Studies program at Genesee Community College,
call 585-345-6801 or go to

                                                              # # #