Genesee Community College Introduces Technology Opportunity Pathway (TOP) Scholars

A group of students who completed in the fall 2004 semester at Genesee Community College are beginning the spring 2005 semester with scholarships funded by the National Science Foundation, Computer Science, Engineering, Math Scholarship (CSEMS) grant. These students come from 20 local communities, including eight from Batavia, two from Akron, Albion, Dansville and Holley, and one each from Corfu, Churchville, Arkport, Darien Center, Oakfield, Caledonia, Avon, Hilton, Holland, North Chili, Castile, Attica, Spencerport, Warsaw and Alexander. They are studying in technology programs including Computer Information Systems (CIS), Computer Systems & Networking (CSN), Drafting, Engineering Science, Multimedia, Liberal Arts Math & Science, and Individualized Studies with a focus on technology.

The grant provides four years of funding to benefit students in technology programs. TOP scholars must enroll for a minimum of 12 credit hours, maintain a GPA of 2.5 or better, qualify for financial assistance (FAFSA), and present letters of recommendation from faculty in the program. In order to meet the TOP program goals, students will have faculty mentors and opportunities for job shadowing and internships. Referrals to the College's student support services will be made to ensure success in their academic technology program, continuation to a baccalaureate program, or entry into the job market upon graduation.

In fall 2005, TOP will continue to serve students enrolled in programs at the College and recruit new students to the program. The same requirements will be followed with consideration of high school grades and letters of recommendations from high school faculty. Adult students wishing to make a career change or upgrade their skills in a technology field are encouraged to apply. Go to and look to the link for scholarship information or call 585-345-6800 or 1-866-CALL-GCC.

Last NameFirst NameMajorCity/ResidenceAlexanderAmandaEngineering ScienceCorfuBraunRandyComputer Information SystemsDansvilleBryanJulianComputer Information SystemsBataviaCampbellDanielComputer Systems & Network TechnologyChurchvilleCarwardineMichaelMultimediaArkportCavanaughJenniferLiberal Arts Math & ScienceBataviaClarkRyan Computer Information SystemsDarien CenterConradChristieComputer Information SystemsBataviaDixsonMichaelLiberal Arts Math & ScienceOakfieldDolanJacobComputer Information SystemsHolleyDolbyWesleyComputer Systems & Network TechnologyCaledoniaDorazioToddEngineering ScienceBataviaFullerAndrewComputer Information SystemsDansvilleGleasonDanielComputer Systems & Network TechnologyAlbionKossDebraIndividualized StudiesAkronKucinskasAprylComputer Systems & Network TechnologyAvonLudwigJoshuaComputer Information SystemsAkronMapesAdamComputer Information SystemsAlbionMarksJesse Computer Information SystemsHiltonPattersonMichaelLiberal Arts Math & ScienceHolleySarkisAnthonyComputer Systems & Network TechnologyNorth ChiliSmathersEdward Drafting CertificateCastileSmithCraig DraftingBataviaSmithNicholasEngineering ScienceBataviaSmithTimothyEngineering ScienceHollandSweetTorreyComputer Systems & Network TechnologyWarsawTakachMatthewDraftingAtticaTanaskoskiIvanDraftingSpencerportTaylorKareemLiberal Arts Math & ScienceBataviaWhiteScottComputer Systems & Network TechnologyAlexanderWyseMichaelComputer Systems & Network TechnologyBatavia

A group photograph of the TOP Scholars taken at their first orientation meeting is located at Sitting in the first row left to right is: Michael Wyse, Michael Carwardine, Dan Gleason, Christie Conrad, Adam Mapes, Scott White, and Torrey Sweet. Second row, left to right: Jesse Marks, Apryl Kucinskas, Edward Smathers, Kareem Taylor, Timothy Smith, Nicholas Smith, Jacob Dolan and Matt Takach. Row three, left to right: Wes Dolby, Michael Dixson, Amanda Alexander, Daniel Campbell, Jennifer Cavanaugh, Michael Patterson, Josh Ludwig and Todd Dorazio.