Dinner Theatre Allows Audience to Create Ending The Mystery of Edwin Drood Opens Nov. 12 at GCC

Dress Rehearsal Photo Opportunity: Monday, November 9, 2015 @ 5:00PM Stuart Steiner Theatre

Batavia, NY- Take a trip back in time to a lively Victorian music hall for a night of dinner theatre where a distinguished ensemble of actors, the Music Hall Royale, stages its flamboyant rendition of an unfinished Dickens mystery in The Mystery of Edwin Drood. The show tells the story of the upstanding young Edwin Drood, played by GCC alumna Maryssa Peirick (Batavia, NY), who mysteriously disappears and is presumably murdered. But who the Dickens did it? In the end, each audience gets to decide! Come enjoy the madcap musical mystery where you and your friends can write the ending that Dickens never did!

The performance, which includes the audience surrounding the action on stage, runs November 12-15, 2015, with the Thursday, Friday and Saturday shows at 7 p.m. and the Sunday matinee at 2 p.m. All tickets are $30 and include a pasta buffet dinner. This production will benefit the Mental Health Association in Genesee County and advance reservations are required.

The cast, stage crew and musical ensemble of this musical mystery dinner theatre is made up of GCC students from near and far, faculty, alumni and members of the community including the following:
Cast & Ensemble

  • Maryssa Peirick, Batavia (Edwin Drood)
  • Maria Albanese, Kendall (Helena Landless)
  • Drew Burt, Scio (Neville Landless)
  • Kay Foppes, Oakfield (Drood understudy)
  • Blake Carter, Batavia (James Throttle/Dancer)
  • Joe Ciranni, Dansville (Deputy/Dancer)
  • Ryan McKenrick, Rochester (Jasper understudy)
  • Jake Bortle, LeRoy (John Jasper)
  • Samantha Marchisin, Attica (Rosa Bud)
  • Rob Reiss, Elba (Bazzard)
  • Alex Farley, Corfu (Reverend Crisparkle)
  • Shelby Waterman, Stafford (Princess Puffer understudy, Ensemble & Dancer)
  • Norm Gayford, Warsaw (Chairman & Mayor Sapsea)
  • Jerry Newell, Attica (Durdles)
  • Nick Dunn, Batavia (Neville Landless & Ensemble)
  • Akihiro Tamura, Tochigi, Japan (Ensemble & Dancer)
  • Amber Foppes, Oakfield (Ensemble)
  • Marissa Carbonell, Batavia (Ensemble)
  • Elizabeth Johnson, Batavia (Ensemble)
  • Alannah Gross, Batavia (Ensemble)
  • Yukino Ito, Hyogo, Japan (Ensemble)


  • Orlando Diaz, Rochester (Pianist)
  • Mark Hoerbelt, Batavia (Orchestra Conductor)
  • Andrea Meier, Caledonia (Violin)
  • Pamela Wentworth, Batavia (Flute)
  • Bob Chaplin, Waterport (Percussion)
  • Cindy Baldwin, Batavia (Clarinet)
  • Kacy Dolan, Cheektowaga (Trumpet)

Direction / Stage Crew:

  • Maryanne Arena, LeRoy (Director & Princess Puffer)
  • Lauren Picarro-Hoerbelt, Batavia (Music Director)
  • Ryan Sullivan, Rockville Centre (Assistant Stage Manager)
  • Tilly Pease, York (Sound Design)
  • Caroline Peterson, Orchard Park (Stage Manager)
  • Leigh Trumpfheller, Horseheads (Lighting Design)
  • Deeana Antoine, Brooklyn (Projections/Sound Assistant)
  • Adrienne Huggins, Bronx (Wardrobe)
  • Amiyah Johnson, Wisconsin (Backstage)
  • Ed Hallborg, Cowlesville (Technical Director/Set Design)
  • Tara Pocock, Batavia (Choreographer)

For ticket reservations or information, contact the Genesee Center for the Arts box office at (585) 345-6814 or via email: boxoffice@genesee.edu. Information can also be found online at www.genesee.edu/campuslife/arts or www.facebook.com/GCCTheatre.

For more information, contact Marketing Communications Associate Director Donna Rae Sutherland at (585) 343-0055 ext. 6616, or via email: dsutherland@genesee.edu.

Please note: this production of “The Mystery of Edwin Drood” is a Rupert Holmes musical with original Broadway production produced by The New York Shakespeare Festival with Joseph Papp as producer and the arrangement by TAMS-WITMARK MUSIC LIBRARY, INC., 560 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022

# # #
Editor’s Note:

For a cast photo, please go to: http://marketing.genesee.edu/images/Edwin_Drood_Cast_2015.jpg

First row (in split): Blake Carter; Second row: Kay Foppes, Amber Foppes, Shelby Waterman, Yukino Ito, Akihiro Tamura, Joseph Ciranni, Marissa Carbonell, Elizabeth Johnson
Third row: Jerry Newell, Maryanne Arena, Maria Albanese, Jake Bortle, Maryssa Peirick, Alex Farley, Drew Burt, Norm Gayford, Robert Reiss; Fourth row: Ryan McKenrick